7 Ways to Sunday: Eggs

Eggs are a staple in my life.  I almost ALWAYS have one everyday for breakfast…but after awhile scrambled eggs get kind of boring no matter what all you put into them.  So here are 7 different ways to enjoy your morning protien intake.

Scrambled: Well duh!  Scrambled eggs are probably the easiest…maybe not but they are very versatile.  You can add any veggie into that you want.  I like to add some spinach and minced garlic to my scrambled eggs.  But I have seen, on pinterest, where people put tomatoes, ham, cheese, pesto, peppers, all kinds of stuff!  Everybody has their own “secret” to what makes their eggs so good.  I have heard dry mustard (not bad), a little dill (it doesn’t suck), and also cayenne pepper (now we are talking!).   Do you have a secret ingredient for your scrambled eggs?

Hard Boiled: This is by far the easiest way to have eggs in the morning.  My aunt would boil two eggs and microwave some bacon and put it in a sandwich bag on her way to work.  When I was in undergrad I would get up start a egg to boiling and by the time I was out of the shower and dressed it was ready!  Me an one of my roommates actually got into an argument because she thought I had left and turned the pot off leaving me with no breakfast.  No bueno!

Omelette: This might be the most popular, however I am not a fan.  I don’t know what it is but I just can’t stomach an omelette.  I put all the same stuff into scrambled eggs and I am fine but fold it into an omelette no thank you.  There are so many different kinds of omelettes too!  It’s like the hamburger of breakfast foods.  Everybody has their own version!  What kind of omelette do you like? Maybe I should try them again now that I am older.

Toad in Hole (Egg in Hole): I love this!  It’s fast and portable if you need it to be.  Now above is something new that I have found.  It’s a California Toad in Hole.  It’s just like the normal one only you add avocado to it.  SO here is a crazy question, if I put Florida Avocado on it would it be a Florida Toad in Hole? LOL!  If you don’t know how to make Toad in Hole it is stupid-crazy-easy!  All you do is take a slice of bread and cut a hole in the center using a cookie cutter or a glass or the cap to the spray olive oil that you are about to use to spray a skillet with.  Put the bread in the skillet and break an egg into the hole.  Let it brown and then flip!  I tend to cover mine so that the yolk is solid.

SAMSUNG

Poached: I almost forgot about these (I had to cheat and look up some more egg ideas).  What I like to do is take a waffle (or piece of toast) a piece of ham, top that with the poached egg, and then top with some cheese (see eggs benedict below).   THe other way you can poach an egg is in the oven.  I have on many occasion taken a small aluminum pan (set of 3 of them for a $1 at Dollar Tree) spray the pan with olive oil, circle the edge with tater tots fill in the middle with spinach break an egg (carefully) on top of that and pop it in the oven on about 350*.  Cook until you are comfortable with the yolk.  Sprinkle some cheese on the top if you like.

Quiche: Now I am not a big fan of these.  My grandmother used to make them all the time when I was a kid and it was the safest thing in the house.  I would go hungry before I ate them.  I have grown up a little and I try.  I can usually get through a tiny slice.  I have made tiny quiches for fast eating in the morning.

Eggs Benedict:  Now this is like the Cadillac of breakfast eggs.  I can get everything short of the Hollandaise Sauce; and there are so many different ways to make the sauce too.  At it’s core it is just a glorified poached egg but I hear it is really good so there you go!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

