Recessionista Home Makeover: Shoeboxes

Shoes!  All ladies…and many men…love them!  There is one thing that I don’t like and that’s having mix matched shoeboxes sitting on my shelf; I have slight OCD Tendencies.  Since I have all of this time off I cleaned house and found some of the boxes from my work shoes.  I recommissioned them into something more suitable for my needs…a shelf for my photos and a wall file.  I even made a nice little tutorial if you want to try this project.

Materials

  • Shoebox
  • Wrapping paper
  • Tape
  • Thumbtacks (or other method of attaching box to a wall)

Procedure

  1. If the box is one of those new fangled ones that is just one big piece of cardboard with strategic cuts and folds, cut the top off. If you have the easier one just take the top off and toss it to the side.

2014-02-05 15.08.24

2.)  Wrap the box.  However you choose to wrap your box you want to make sure you have the outside and the inside covered.  My method was kinda awkward lol.  So as not to waste the paper covering the bottom (back) of the box, I wrapped around the perimeter of the box.  Then took a piece cut it in half and covered the inside of the box.

2014-02-05 15.31.46

3.) Next decorate your box!  I have some dandelion wall clings that I got from Dollar Tree awhile ago and never used them.  I took a couple and attached the to the side of the box.

2014-02-05 15.33.20

4.) Hang on the wall.  I can do magical things with a thumbtack and a ball of twine.  I used two and it holds up just fine.  TADA!  My pics finally have a home and they don’t have to share with the growing collection of books!

2014-02-05 15.42.41-2

On to project number two the wall file.

1.) Take a box top.  I used the top of the first box.  Wrap it in paper.

2014-02-05 15.54.27

2.) Now attach it to the wall using one thumbtack on each side.  Add some decoration if you like.

2014-02-05 16.06.19-1

I’m looking for some new ways to use shoe boxes since I have a couple more sitting around the apt. How do you use your shoeboxes…besides of course to store your shoes.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

